top of page

The Windy City: CHICAGO, Illinois

Hello everyone, today I will take you to my good old day in Chicago. This trip was about 4 years ago when I was 16. The trip didn’t start off very well since I realized that I forgot to put my camera battery inside. I was sitting in a car, enjoying the view from the window and attempted to take a picture. At that moment I know this trip was going to be bad but it turned out better than I thought. Thanks to my lovely host family who treated me very nice throughout the trip.

There are two ways of traveling from my town, Brooklyn to Chicago, Illinois, first is to go by airplane and second is to go by train. The fastest way is probably by plane, but since the airport is in Detroit which is far way from Brooklyn, we decided to buy a train ticket from Jackson to Chicago. Noted that all of this town name is in Michigan except Chicago which is a city in Illinois.

Traveling by train is fun when you are not in a rush and you also enjoy the view from town to town. When I arrived there at Chicago train station, I had to set my clock to fit with the central time zone. It was about 1 hour more in Chicago. The first impression of Chicago was that there are skyscrapers everywhere. It was a truly beautiful city. I don’t know if I was lucky or unlucky since I got to experience the real feel of “the windy city” which is a nickname for Chicago. It was crazy cold I would say. The temperature was about 16 celsius with wind and rain so the real feel was more like 9 celsius.

After meeting up with my host family, we walked to have lunch at Hard Rock cafe. I was very excited by the decoration inside. I get the feeling that I was eating in the pop rock museum.

The first day we didn’t do much but just meeting up and take a rest. We started to explore the city on the second day. We started by taking a train to Chicago and walk around, doing some sight-seeing. We stopped at the park and the cloud gate or also known as Chicago Bean. This cloud gate was really amazing to look at. It was in the right place as you can see all of the biggest and important building behind the bean. Also, if you look at the bean, you can see the reflection of the sky and the city and that is probably the reason why it is called the cloud gate.

Next, we reached the pier where we booked our ferry tour ticket. This ferry is an open roof ferry so that everyone can see the view of the city while a guide talks about the history of this city as well as explain some of the building structure. I would recommend those who interested about architecture to visit this city.

After finish with the ferry tour, we spent most of our time in the Aquarium and Science museum. It was pretty boring to be honest if you are not interested in this kind of stuff. Then we moved to the longest line I have ever waited, the line to get into the Willis tower. Willis Tower is the highest building in Chicago. Most if the people who go to this place just wanted to experience what they call “glass floor” It is basically a glass floor which you can look down to see how high you are right now. I recommend booking a ticket in advance because there were a lot of people. You could end up wait for 4 hours just to get in.

Move on to the last spot and the true reason why I was there in Chicago, deep dish pizza. It was the best pizza I have ever have in my entire life. For people who like cheese, this is the haven for you. It is everything that a pizza lover need in their life. I really miss the deep dish pizza by just writing this blog. What a great way to end Chicago trip.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page