top of page

How to edit picture (mobile photography)

Last week I talked about mobile photography in general and in that article I mentioned the trend “editing” which is the beginning of the reason why mobile photography got so popular. This week, I will be talking about an editing process in depth. You will get to know a proper way to edit a picture on mobile. Don’t worry it would be a very easy step for you to follow.

So basically, there are 2 applications that I use, VSCO and snapseed. These two apps serve different purposes due to their function. I prefer to use snapseed to correct some spots and flaws in the picture and do some HDR adjustment in order to bring back an overexposure or highlight part. This will make the photo look nice and clean.



So what do I do next ?


Open your picture that you like and go to spot healing You can use this tool to correct any flaws such as a spot in the sky, wall, table or acne on the face. This will make your photo look clean and comfortable to look at. I recommend using this tool on the part of the picture that doesn’t include much of the detail for example sky.


Tip you can use make the cloud look clean or create a pattern that you want


1. HDR scape


Choose what kind of HDR do you prefer. There are two options that I frequently use, nature and people. As the name suggested, if you edit a picture of people you would use “people” because it will protect the skin tone from getting weird. However, I personally use “people” both with portrait and landscape simply because “people” mode give a natural look while “nature” will give you dramatic look. One tip about HDR scape is that you should be careful when you apply HDR, make sure that it doesn’t get too intense. I recommend going between 20-50 percent.



2. VSCO


After, you are done with snapseed, go to VSCO. This app is mainly for color adjustment. There is myriad of filters to choose from. However, most of the good filters can only be use if you purchase them. Some of the filters can be obtained for free but you have to download them in some special occasions (limited time).

From this point, I really can't help you with color editing because we all have a preference. Some people might prefer cool tone more than a warm one. Some people tend to keep their Instagram pictures to have a consistent tone but I prefer to edit color base on the nature of it. For example, if the majority of the picture is in a cool tone, I wouldn't change it but instead, I will enhance or lower it down.


Tip When you apply a filter on to the picture, I recommend you to lower the intensity down so the photo will not look over edited .



You Might Also Like:
bottom of page