top of page

Upper Michigan (Sand Dune)

Hello guys, welcome back to my blog again. In this week I will do a little bit of throwback. Since the final exam is coming and a lot of projects deadline is killing me, I tend to escape from all those responsibilities and look back at my good old day. It was when I was an exchange student in America. That was about 4 years ago and I went to many places including, the upper Michigan! Of course, I lived in Michigan for 10 months but I went to visit the north part of it just once.

We started the trip by visiting Sand Dune before going to our place. Sand Dune is where you will be spending a lot of time walking those hillocks. As you can see in a picture it is pretty high. It required a lot of energy to walk all the way to the beach because there is not just one sand hillock but rather more than 10 of them. I decided to go all the way to see the beach because of 2 reasons. First, it was probably the first and last time I will get a chance to visit that place. Second, It is not just a normal beach, it does not connect to the sea but it connects to the great lake of Michigan which is amazing if you think about how big the lake is. If you are on the beach, you will see it as a beach that connects to the sea, but it is actually not. However, I did not make it to the beach. I gave up. It was so hot walking during the midday even it was just spring but the sun was directly above my head.

After that, we got in the car and drove to the National Park near Sand Dune to see the beach from above…. Yeah, I should have known this before decided to walk across so many sand hills. It is so beautiful in the park, you can see the view of the great lake (which seem more like an ocean) and the tiny beach. There is a walking path for you which make it easier than walking on the sand. The place and view look kind of deadly and that is because it was during the very first week of spring after winter was gone. So the tree looks pretty much dead with some little green leaves at their branches. I took some panoramic shot to show how large the lake is, take a look.

It was an exhausted day even we went just only two places, but it required a lot of walking. We were tired so we drove to our place to get our stuff in and get ready for the next day at Mackinac Island. I will write about Mackinac Island and the rest of the trip in next week, so if you want to see, please make sure to check out my blog next Sunday. I want to end this blog by showing the picture of our lodging. It belongs to my host mother’s sister. I did not take any picture inside the house because it is not mine and it is not a public place or hotel but I took pictures of the outside. So take a look!

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page